Sentimental Minions

The theatricalities of the humble bookmark

  • a

  • Archives

  • Tweetions

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Sunday afternoon

Posted by Avadhut on 3 June 2007

Its sunday afternoon. Post lunch. My niece, all of three years old, decides that it is the perfect time to tell me a story.

Riya: I will tell you a story

Me: Ok

Riya: Once there was a cat and a monkey. They were standing on top

Me: Of what?

Riya: Shhh! She decided to hit everybody

Me: Who?

Riya: How many questions you ask baba? It has to be a cat only no? How can a monkey hit?

Me: oohh (people, the logic was irrefutable!)

Riya: So she hit everyone. Wait! You want one story or four stories? I will tell you four stories. Ok? So the cat then ate a chapati. It was on the floor. So the monkey laughed.

Me: (thinking to myself—this is going to be a long afternoon)

Riya: So then it rained and they all got wet. And then the rain stopped and they did not get wet for a while. But the it started raining again and they again got wet.

At this point it had started raining outside. The receptive faculty of her creative brain continues to astound me!

Riya: After that they…I will sleep now.

Me: But. But, what about the story?

Riya: How many questions you ask baba?

She then proceeded to scramble out of the room to search for someone who’d ask lesser questions I guess—her Mum.

10 Responses to “Sunday afternoon”

  1. Ergo said

    Awwwwww…. cho chweeet!

  2. Another interesting true conversation with my niece a couple of years ago..

    Me: If you bring the Guppys out of the lotus pond they will die.

    Chinu: Why?

    Me: Because fish cannot survive outside water.

    Chinu: Why?

    Me: What will happen if I lock you in a dark room.

    Chinu: I will cry.

    Me: Then similarly the fish will die.

    Chinu: Why?

    (by now i have lost my patience)

    Me: Now Dont pluck the lotus flower.

    Chinu: Why?

    Me: Because I am saying so.

    Chinu: I listen only to my mom.

    Me: Why? (with a smile..)

    Chinu: Bcos mom says dont listen to strangers!!

  3. Pink Imp said

    HAHHAHAHH!!! I abosultely LOVE that train of thought (Riya’s, in case you thought otherwise 😉 )

    This reminds me of my pea-brained cousin (he still is pea-brained,unfortunately 😦 )

    At family occasions he used to force everyone to listen to his story, interestingly titles, “tiger and the potato”

    Pea brain’s plot being:

    for (pea-brain=0, pea-brain

  4. incomplete comment…guess u must have been to a late sat night party 😉 !!

  5. Pink Imp said

    HAHHAHAHH!!! I abosultely LOVE that train of thought (Riya’s, in case you thought otherwise )

    This reminds me of my pea-brained cousin (he still is pea-brained,unfortunately )

    At family occasions he used to force everyone to listen to his story, interestingly titled, “tiger and the potato”

    Pea brain’s story being:

    for (pea-brain=0; pea-brain

  6. DT said

    question: what’s foo?

  7. Avadhut said

    DT: Tch Tch! Obviously you are a latecomer. Refer to this disussion.

  8. anvita said

    good story. and u did ask too many questions!

  9. retroglades said

    you inquisitive potato..
    work on your listening skills 😉

  10. Donna said

    hey nice post avadhut!!!

    I rememeber a conversation between my two little frnds

    Vishnu: I am going to America

    Thambu: Dont lie!! first of all, do yu know where America is???

    Vishnu: YAYY!!! i know – it is in Africa

    Thambu: AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
    AHAHHAAHAHAAH…hehehehehHAHAAHAAHAHHAA … Stupid!!!! America is not in Africa – It is in India!!

    Me: (ROTFWL) :):):)

Leave a Reply

 
